Return to Headlines

Outstanding Board

The Community ISD school board has been chosen as an Outstanding School Board in the 2020 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program

H-E-B has announced the Community Independent School District Board of Trustees as a finalist in the 2020 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program. Created in 2002, the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards are designed to honor outstanding public school professionals and to thank them for their dedication and commitment. Since its launch, the effort has awarded more than $11 million to deserving educators. Through this program, H-E-B seeks to pay tribute to those educators who go the extra mile each and every day to serve their students and their communities and who inspire others to do the same. The Outstanding School Board honor is designed to recognize school boards that have demonstrated real leadership in the community that it serves based on three basic criteria: 1) Academic/student progress within the district, 2) Identification of community needs and specific actions taken based on those needs, and 3) new and creative methods for community engagement.

2020 Outstanding School Board Finalists include:

Elgin ISD

Mission CISD

Community ISD

Canyon ISD

Greenville ISD

To determine overall statewide winners, a panel of judges will visit each of the five finalist school board districts in March. This visit will include campus tours and talks with administration, staff, parents, and community members. Winners will be announced at the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony on May 3 at the La Cantera Resort & Spa in San Antonio. 

About Community ISD School Board

The Community ISD Trustees have served on the Board for an average of five and a half years with President Mike Shepard, an independent insurance agent, having the longest tenure of ten years. Board Vice President Randy McCuistion, a real estate developer, has served on the board for eight years. Systems Manager and Community High School Alumnus Jeff Pendill was elected to the Board in 2013. Marc Stanfield is a vice-president of preconstruction and was elected to the Board of Trustees in 2015. Jana Hunter attended Community ISD from Kindergarten through 12th grade and now works as a Director of Purchasing for a nearby school district. Mrs. Hunter was appointed to the board in 2015. Sean Walker works in the asset protection field and was elected to the board in 2015. The most recently elected trustee, Alicia Young, is a graduate of Community High School and a former teacher at CHS. She was elected to the Board in 2017.

HEB Outstanding  Board

These seven individuals are providing the exceptional vision and supportive leadership that is ushering CISD into an exciting time of near double-digit enrollment growth. Our stakeholders are confident in the direction set by our Board as evidenced by the November 2017 approval of the District’s largest ever Bond proposal ($115 million). These Trustees have demonstrated a steadfast commitment to creating an environment of excellence which is changing the culture in our classrooms and the community. Their bold and aggressive commitment to increase the salary structure so the District is able to attract and retain talented and passionate educators is changing the experiences and outcomes for our students. As a result of their outstanding leadership, Community ISD was one of only 20 districts in the state of Texas to improve from a C-Rated District in 2018, to an A-Rated District in 2019.

Team of 8