Return to Headlines

CISD Board Named Top 5

Community ISD Selected 2018 Honor School Board

AUSTIN—The Community ISD Board of Trustees is one of five school boards from across Texas selected as Honor School Boards as part of the 2018 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Coahoma ISD superintendent Amy Jacobs, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2017. The selection committee’s decisions were based on specific criteria, including support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

“The members of the Community ISD Board of Trustees are humble and passionate servant leaders,” said Jacobs. “They are fiercely dedicated to promoting and supporting their district’s students, faculty and staff, volunteers, programs and campuses in all that they do.”

The CISD Board of Trustees was nominated for the award by Superintendent Roosevelt Nivens. “These seven individuals are providing exceptional vision and supportive leadership that is ushering the district into an exciting time of near double-digit enrollment growth,” said Nivens. “Our trustees have demonstrated a steadfast commitment to creating an environment of excellence that is changing the culture in our classrooms and community.”

CISD Team of 8

The CISD and other four Honor Boards — Brenham, Grapevine-Colleyville, Lamar and Medina Valley ISDs — are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2018 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin, then one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s second general session at 10:30 a.m., Sept. 29. The other Honor Boards, as well as 16 regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first. The program is facilitated by TASA, the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.