Return to Headlines

TREA Board of the Year

(April 25, 2018) The Texas Rural Education Association has named the Community ISD School Board 2018 TREA School Board of the Year. According to the Texas Education Agency, rural schools account for 459 of the 1,247 school districts in Texas. Since 1992, the Texas Rural Education Association has been dedicated to improving teaching and learning in the rural schools of Texas. The TREA School Board of the Year is selected based on several considerations, including the contributions made by the board to rural education, as well as their performance as a rural school district Team of Eight.

Superintendent Dr. Roosevelt Nivens said that the TREA School Board of the Year recognition is a reflection of the committed and passionate service he sees everyday from each member of the CISD School Board. “We have seven of the most selfless individuals on our board and they serve our community with such humility and sincerity,” said Nivens. “I am so excited that they have received this honor and are being recognized by the Texas Rural Education Association,” he added.

CISD Board President Mike Shepard said that he and his fellow board members are humbled by the recognition. “As trustees, we view ourselves as servant leaders,” he said. “Our focus is on providing the students of CISD every educational tool and opportunity they need and deserve,” added Shepard. 

The CISD Board was honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 23rd during the TREA Summer Conference held at the DFW Marriott in Ft. Worth, Texas.

TREA Board of the Year

Left to right: Marc Stanfield, Sean Walker, Jana Hunter, Alicia Young, Jeff Pendill, Randy McCuistion, Mike Shepard and Dr. Roosevelt Nivens

TREA Board of the Year

2018 CISD Team of Eight - Texas Rural Education Association Board of the Year

The Texas Rural Education Association is a statewide organization with a formal affiliation to the National Rural Education Association. TREA promotes quality education opportunities and experiences for all students from rural public schools which enables them to live and compete in global society.

Established in 1947, Community ISD has been serving the students and families in southeast Collin County for almost 70 years. CISD attendance boundaries spread over 89 square miles and encompass the towns of Copeville, Josephine, Lavon and Nevada. CISD is home to over 2,200 students attending our four campuses: NeSmith Elementary (Pre-K - 5th grade), McClendon Elementary (Pre-K - 5th grade and ESL program), Edge Middle School (6th - 8th grade), and Community High School (9th - 12th grade).

Mike Shepard Randy McCuistion Jeff Pendill Marc Stanfield Alicia Young Sean Walker Jana Hunter