History of Community ISD

  • On July 28, 1947, the County School Trustees of Collin County, Texas passed an order grouping the Josephine ISD, Nevada School District, Lavon School District, Millwood School District, Mt. Piscah School District, and McMinn School District (Copeville School would join soon after) for the purpose of establishing and operating a rural high school. The District was named the Community Rural High School. The school opened with 235 students in 12 grades. There were nine graduates in the inaugural class of 1948:

    • Billy Caldwell
    • Lucille Cook Sedgwick
    • Jane Davis Allen
    • Aletha Ivy Hargrave
    • James Lambert
    • George McSpadden
    • Peggy Petty Reagan
    • Jeannie Smith Richie
    • Carrie Juanita Renfro Bell

    During the 2017-18 school year, we celebrated the 70th anniversary of CISD.

    Check out a history of our mascot and logo here.

CISD History