Skip To Main Content

School Exclusion

School Exclusion

Some communicable diseases or conditions may warrant exclusion from school in order to keep our staff and student population as healthy as possible. If your child exhibits any of the following symptoms, please keep them at home until they are symptom-free:

If your child has been prescribed antibiotics, your child may return after the prescribed antibiotics have been taken for at least 24 hours

  • Temperature of 100 degrees Fahrenheit or above (student must be fever-free for 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medication before returning to school)
  • Persistent vomiting and/or diarrhea (student must be free from episodes of vomiting and/or diarrhea for at least 24 hours before returning to school)
  • Persistent cough
  • Rash
  • Open, itchy or draining lesions
  • Red, itchy, or draining eyes
  • Presence of live lice or nits in the hair
  • Suffering from a reportable disease, as defined by the Texas Department of State Health Services
  • Undiagnosed scaly patches on the body or scalp
logo

School Nurse Directory

Director of Health Services
Mallory Scott, RN, BSN

Phone: (972) 843-6008
Fax: (972) 843-6001
mallory.scott@communityisd.org

Community High School Nurse
Karen Collins, RN, BSN, CDE

Phone: (972) 843-6520
Fax: (972) 843-6501
karen.collins@communityisd.org

NeSmith Elementary School Nurse
Karrie Gaines, LVN
Phone: (972) 843-6108
Fax: (972) 843-6101
karrie.gaines@communityisd.org

McClendon Elementary School Nurse (Pre-K through 3rd)
Dusti Blake, LVN
Phone: (972) 843-6808
Fax: (972) 843-6801
dusti.blake@communityisd.org

McClendon Elementary School Nurse (4th & 5th Grade)
Cassandra Daniels, RN

Phone: (972) 843-6858
Fax: (972) 843-6851
cassandra.daniels@communityisd.org

Edge Middle School Nurse
Katrina Jones, LVN
Phone: (972) 843-6608
Fax: (972) 843-6601
katrina.jones@communityisd.org

Float Nurse/Case Manager
Ashley Parker, RN
Phone: (972) 843-6008
Fax: (972) 843-6501
ashley.parker@communityisd.org

Roderick Elementary School Nurse
Sandy Toon, RN
Phone: (972) 843-6150
Fax: (972) 843-6151
sandra.toon@communityisd.org