Skip To Main Content

Health Services

Health Services Overview


School Nursing is a specialized practice of professional nursing that advances the well-being, academic success and life-long achievement and health of students.

School Nurses facilitate positive student responses to normal development; promote health and safety, including a healthy environment; intervene with actual and potential health problems; provide case management services; and actively collaborate with others to build student and family capacity for adaptation, self-management, self advocacy, and learning (School Nurse Definition: National Association of School Nurses, 2010).

The School Nurse is responsible for health records, hygiene counseling, and general medical conditions. The School Nurse keeps records of students' health and performs screenings on students (per DSHS) which may include vision, hearing, spinal (for scoliosis), and Acanthosis Nigricans/AN (precursor to Type II Diabetes).

 

Your Child's Health Matters

The Community ISD Health Services staff believes that the ability for students to achieve academic success is directly related to the status of their health. Community ISD understands this and provides a professional school nurse on every campus to promote health and provide continuity of care for all students.

Health Services Useful Links

Click Here for the Texas Department of State Health Services

Click Here for Health Finder (Spanish)

Click Here for Health Finder (English)

Click Here for the National Institutes of Health

Click Here for The Center for Health and Health Care in Schools

Click Here for Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

 

logo

School Nurse Directory

Director of Health Services
Mallory Scott, RN, BSN

Phone: (972) 843-6008
Fax: (972) 843-6001
mallory.scott@communityisd.org

Community High School Nurse
Karen Collins, RN, BSN, CDE

Phone: (972) 843-6520
Fax: (972) 843-6501
karen.collins@communityisd.org

NeSmith Elementary School Nurse
Karrie Gaines, LVN
Phone: (972) 843-6108
Fax: (972) 843-6101
karrie.gaines@communityisd.org

McClendon Elementary School Nurse (Pre-K through 3rd)
Dusti Blake, LVN
Phone: (972) 843-6808
Fax: (972) 843-6801
dusti.blake@communityisd.org

McClendon Elementary School Nurse (4th & 5th Grade)
Cassandra Daniels, RN

Phone: (972) 843-6858
Fax: (972) 843-6851
cassandra.daniels@communityisd.org

Edge Middle School Nurse
Katrina Jones, LVN
Phone: (972) 843-6608
Fax: (972) 843-6601
katrina.jones@communityisd.org

Float Nurse/Case Manager
Ashley Parker, RN
Phone: (972) 843-6008
Fax: (972) 843-6501
ashley.parker@communityisd.org

Roderick Elementary School Nurse
Sandy Toon, RN
Phone: (972) 843-6150
Fax: (972) 843-6151
sandra.toon@communityisd.org