Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CHS Leader Named Texas Principal of the Year

CHS Leader Named Texas Principal of the Year

AUSTIN, Texas - Dr. Charles Ryan, Principal of Community High School in Nevada, Texas, has been selected to represent the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) as the Texas High School Principal of the Year. TASSP recognizes outstanding Principals and Assistant Principals from the twenty Regions in the state. School administrators are nominated and chosen by their peers within their Regions, and then finalists are interviewed by the TASSP Principal Image Committee. Nominations are based on exemplary performance and outstanding leadership.

Dr. Ryan has been the Principal at Community High School since 2020, and has been an administrator at CISD since 2018. He served as the Edge Middle School Dean of Students in 2018-19 and was named Principal at EMS for the 2019-20 school year. He is in his fourth year as the high school principal. Prior to his time at EMS, Mr. Ryan served as social studies teacher and head girls basketball coach at Community High School. Mr. Ryan has been a part of the Brave Nation since 2016.

Dr. Ryan began his education career in Oklahoma where he spent eleven years coaching and teaching at the middle school, junior high, and high school level. He earned his Doctorate in Education Administration and Masters in Education Administration from Texas A&M University-Commerce, and holds a Bachelors in Education from Southeastern Oklahoma State University. He also holds a Superintendent certification from Texas A&M-Commerce.

Dr. Ryan is married to his wife Jackie, also an educator in CISD. They have two daughters, Andrea and Kimmie.
“To say we’re proud of Dr. Ryan is an understatement,” said Dr. Tonya Knowlton, Superintendent of Community ISD. “He has been an asset to Brave Nation since he started here as a social studies teacher almost a decade ago, and I am overjoyed that educators from across the State of Texas have recognized what a blessing Dr. Ryan has been to this District. Congratulations to Dr. Ryan and his family on this prestigious achievement!”

Dr. Ryan will be recognized at the Jostens Night of the Stars Awards Dinner held in conjunction with the TASSP Summer Workshop held each year in June in Austin. Principals of the Year will be presented with an engraved plaque and recognized in a commemorative book entitled “Texas Principals, Texas Heroes.”

Principals of the Year participate in TASSP Region Meetings and lead professional development sessions based on best practices for secondary school leaders.

Congratulations again to Dr. Ryan for being selected as the Texas High School Principal of the Year!