Board Elections

  • On Friday, January 20, 2017 the Community ISD Board of Trustees called for an election to be held on Saturday, May 6, 2017 for the purpose of electing one trustee for each position designated as:

     Jeff Pendill   Place 1 Incumbent Jeff Pendill (4 Year Expired Term)
     Mike Cook  Place 2 Incumbent Mike Cook (4 Year Expired Term)
     Mike Shepard  Place 3 Incumbent Mike Shepard (4 Year Expired Term)
     Jana Hunter  Place 5 Incumbent Jana Hunter (2 Year Unexpired Term)
     
    Applications for a place on the ballot may be submitted during regular business hours (Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM) beginning Wednesday, January 18, 2017 thru close of business on Friday, February 17, 2017 at the Terry Pope Administration Building, 611 FM 1138 North, Nevada, TX 75173.       

    Community ISD is contracting with Collin County for full contract election services. Polling locations will be determined at a later time. 

    School Board Election Calendar

    • Monday, December 19, 2016 – Post Notice of the filing period dates.
    • Wednesday, January 18, 2017 - First day for candidates to file application for placement of name on ballot
    • Friday, January 20, 2017 – Board of Trustees officially approves order for Trustee election.
    • Friday, February 17, 2017 – Last day to file for a place on the ballot AND Last day to order General Election
    • Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 5:00 p.m. - Deadline for write-in candidates to file declarations
    • Wednesday, February 22, 2017 – First day an Election can be Cancelled
    • Friday, February 24, 2017 – 5:00 p.m. Last day for a candidate to withdraw. Post notice of ballot position drawing for Monday, February 27, 2017
    • Monday, February  27, 2017 - 9:00 a.m. - Ballot position drawing
    • Thursday, April 6, 2017 – First day to publish Notice of Election
    • Monday, April 17, 2017 – Deadline to post Notice of Election  
    • Monday, April 24, 2017 through Tuesday, May 2, 2017 - Period of early voting.
    • Saturday, May 6, 2017 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. - School Trustee Election – CISD Conference & Technology Center, 611 North FM 1138, Nevada, Texas.
    • Tuesday, May 9, 2017 – First day to conduct official canvass of election returns
    • Wednesday, May 17, 2017 – Last day to conduct official canvass of election returns